A little about my rabbit Billy

Sometimes I get a little impulsive. Like the time that I was walking back to the car with Matty and saw a white rabbit hanging out in someone’s front yard and decided that I really, really wanted one. Not a week later I found an ad on Gumtree and after some garbled phone calls I was standing in someone’s backyard looking at a small pen of about 7 tiny little bunnies.

The first day we brought Billy home

The first day we brought Billy home. So tiny!

Billy has had a colourful life in his 3 years. There was the time that he was called Kayleigh because we thought he was a girl. There was the time he was really sick because someone (cough, me) didn’t know that avocado is toxic to rabbits. There was the time/s that he’s nibbled through cords and clothing and curtains and box edges and buttons. There was the time he was so excited to spend the day with me on the floor that he happily flopped over beside me and did a little rolly polly. There was the time that he decided it was polite to sniff another rabbits eyeball for a really long minute or so. There was the time he realised that our new house has windowsills large enough for him to sit on AND low enough for him to jump up on to view the outside world. There was the time he was found on top of our washing machine. As I said colourful.

Happy to spend time with me, Billy flopped over

Happy to spend time with me, he flopped over and did a little wriggle next to me.

Someone decided to jump onto the chair and then the table. As you do.

Billy "assisting" me while I craft.

Billy “assisting” me while I craft.

Billy grabbed the edge of the bead bucket and overturned it. Thanks for that bunny.

He grabbed the edge of the bead bucket and overturned it. Thanks for that bunny.

He’s also a great helper when I’m trying to craft because I like to spread out on the floor. If he’s not trying to nibble on my supplies or cords he’s lying smack bang in the middle of whatever fabric or paper or crochet squares or beads I have arranged just so.

I wouldn’t change him for the world though, even when he makes the sun shine through tiny little nibbled holes along the bottom of our living room curtains.

Billy using the windowsill as a viewpoint.

Using the windowsill as a viewpoint.

Leave a Reply

